Birthday Dinner For My Big Girl

My baby girl, oh wait big girl, turned 11 on the 4th of July. I told her what do you want for dinner and you can have anything you want. With so many options you would think she would test my patience with something like lobster. Well all she wanted was a nice tasting homemade mac n’ cheese. This baby, I can do.

1 pound elbow macaroni

6 tbsp butter

1/4 cup flour

4 cups whole milk

half a yellow onion, diced small

1 tbsp paprika, smoked or Hungarian

1 tsp fresh parsley

1 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

16 oz cheese (we used a mixture of Mexican & Italian blends at the request of the bday girl)

kosher salt to taste

1 to 1 1/2 cups of bread crumbs

Heat up some water according to package directions. Once boiling, add the pasta and cook for five minutes or el dente. Drain and put in a bowl.

Place in 2 tbsp of the butter and let it melt.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×13 pan. Melt the remaining butter in a pan, medium low heat required or you will burn baby burn. Whisk in the flour.

Whisk constantly until the flour and butter blend together. Stir in the milk.

Stir in spices.

And now the onions, combine well. Look how pretty this sauce is. Looks nothing like that crap you get from a box for 99 cents. Just my opinion though.

Stir in the cheese a little at a time and whisk constantly again. This is worth it, just do it.

Once all the cheese is melted pour over macaroni and add a little salt.

Stir togther and pour into the greased pan.

Sprinkle with the bread crumbs, use as much as you like. I didn’t want them to takeover the dish so I only used 1 cup.

Bake for 30 minutes. Look at this cheesy dish. What Bee wants Bee gets!

I know she is 11 now and she loved her special dinner. Oh forget it, she will always be my baby girl and this is how I will always see her.

The original recipe had chili peppers in adobo sauce. I believe this would be even more awesome with that added.

From my new favorite cookbook Herbivoracious by Michael Natkin.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Dinner For My Big Girl

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE THE END. THAT PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS. HOPE SHE ENJOYED HER SPECIAL DINNER. WHERE’S MINE???? LUV U.

Leave a Reply

