French Onion Soup

Someone called me one day asking for a killer French Onion Soup recipe. I believe the last time I tried this I was 16 working my summer job in Clearwater, FL. Of course I directed her to Pioneer Woman, my go to cooking gangsta of knowledge. Since I was doing all this searching on the topic, I decided to try it as well.

1 stick of butter

6 medium yellow onions, halved and sliced thin

1 cup cooking wine

8 cups beef broth

2 cloves garlic

Worcestershire sauce – couple o’ dashes

baguette

5 oz Gruyere cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Melt the butter in a stock pot over medium heat.

Add sliced onions.

Make sure all onions are coated in the butter.

Place in a baking dish.

Bake for an hour, stirring every 20 minutes to prevent burning. Return to the pot.

Put the temp back up to medium and pour in the cooking wine.

Now the broth.

Add the minced garlic and the worcestershire sauce. Simmer soup for 45 minutes.

When soup has been on for 30 minutes, it’s time to prepare the toppings.

Slice the bread and shred the cheese.

Scoop soup into a bowl and sprinkle with cheese.

Funk yea this is some good soup and I can’t wait to have it come winter.

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/02/french-onion-soup/

Leave a Reply

