Pasole

This post is dedicated to Keisha. I have emailed this recipe to her bunches of times and she never gets it. I think she blocked me or something :). Anyway,  now I can share it exclusivly with her and the rest of you fine people. It’s easy, it’s tasty, and it’s healthy.

small red onion, chopped

12 oz (1 1/2 cup) hominy

3 breasts from a double d chicken, diced or you can leave whole

2 garlic cloves, minced

3 cups water

2 cups broth

1 tbsp oregano

1 tbsp chile powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cumin

15 oz can black beans

10 oz can Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles

To serve: cheese, avocado, cilantro and Sriracha

Place the breasts in a slow cooker. I chose to leave them as they were because I like shredded chicken.

Add the onions & hominy.

Then water, broth and beans! Hee hee, I said beans.

Now the Rotel.

Finish off with the seasonings.

Give it a good stir and turn the cooker on low. You want this to cook low and slow, for 8 hours. After done cooking, you can shred the chicken with 2 forks before serving.

Add the cilantro and cover. Let flavors come together for 15 minutes.

Place in a bowl. Top with cheese, avocado slices and some hot sauce.

This happens to be a recipe I have made over and over again and I never get sick of it.

From a Sprouts magazine

Leave a Reply

