My First Original Recipe … Peppers Stuffed To The Top

My Hubby (I love saying that) told me I need to come up with an original recipe. I feel pretty confident with all the new skills I’ve acquired, so I accept his challenge. Order up and it’s a good one.

6 green peppers – make sure they have flat bottoms so they will stand up for cookin’

1 red pepper

1 lb Italian sausage

quinoa rice blend

1/4 cup pesto

fresh basil, to taste, chopped

pecorino romano cheese

Ok, let’s get started with my first original. First let’s start with a throw back to the Homesick Texan style. Turn the oven to broil. Wash the peppers well and place them on a baking sheet.

Broil on each side for 5 minutes. Oh snap this schmells yum already.

Place in a plastic or ziploc baggy so the peppers can steam themselves.

Change oven temp to 350 degrees. While the peppas get soft, cook up the sausage and the quinoa.

Once the sausage is cooked, drain the grease and add the pesto.

Dice up the red peppers and add them to the quinoa blend.

By now the peppers should be done steaming. Cut the tops off and remove the seeds. Place upright in a baking dish.

Combine the meat/pesto mix with the quinoa/pepper mix. Add some freshly shredded pecorino romano and some chopped basil. Stir.

Stuff the peppers.

Bake for 15 minutes to heat through.

These are so good you are gonna wish you made more. Maybe you should just double this recipe to begin with.

Recipe by me 🙂 ENJOY

2 thoughts on “My First Original Recipe … Peppers Stuffed To The Top

Leave a Reply

