Enchies

One of Dom’s favorite foods are enchiladas. In fact, it’s what I made for him the first time he got to taste my cookin’. They must have been good, because every so often he reminds me how he wishes he could have those enchiladas again.Yeah I forgot what I did, so what! Here’s a recipe I found that appears to be a little similar to that original recipe.

1 pound chicken breast or pork loin

1 can black beans, drained

1 can corn, drained

16 oz. salsa of choice (or 8 oz. of 2 kinds of salsa)

1/2 yellow onion, diced

4 cloves of garlic, minced

12 corn tortillas

1 cup shredded cheese

1 avocado, diced

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

1 tbsp milk

1/4 tsp smoked paprika

fresh cilantro

Two ways to do this. If using the slow cooker, throw meat, onion, garlic, corn, beans and salsa into a slow cooker and cook for a few hours. If you want to do on the stove like me. start by dicing the meat into small cubes, pour in a tbsp of olive oil and cook over medium high heat. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Once meat is browned throw in a tbsp or 2 of cornstarch to soak up the oil. Just a little trick I learned from my grandma.

Combine onion, garlic, corn, beans and salsa and add to meat. Stir it up. Warm the 3 toritllas at a time in the microwave for 25 seconds. This apparently reduces the breakage. Don’t ask. Scoop some mix into a tortilla close it up and place into a baking dish. 

Rinse and repeat until the dish is full.

Sprinkle with some cheese.

Bake for 15 minutes until cheese is melted. While that happens, let’s make some creamy topping. Mix the yogurt, milk and paprika.

The enchies should be done baking by now. MMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmm.

Sprinkle on some cream.

Top with avocado and cilantro.

Not the best looking pic but this was really good. I may just get a pass for forgetting the original recipe.

http://pinchofyum.com/skinny-chicken-enchiladas

2 thoughts on “Enchies

  1. OOOOOHHHH THESE LOOK YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WILL BE MAKIN THESE ASAP…..will be a first for me…so I will let you know how they turn out!!!!!

Leave a Reply

