Frenchy Toasties

I love weekends because I get to spend it cookin’ up a storm. Why not start this weekend making something I’ve engulfed tons of times but never made myself. Plus I was supposed to be posting some yummy sopapillas but they did not get poofy. Argh. So French toast it is.

zest of 1 lemon

1 tbsp sugar

4 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla

1 cup half and half

sliced bread

1 tbsp butter

Heat up a cast iron skillet on medium heat. Throw in butter to coat pan.

Mix everything but the butter and bread in a dish.

 

Dip each side of the bread in the mix. Coat it nicely. Isn’t that zest purty?

 

Sizzle on each side until brown.

MMMMMMMMMMMMM.

Yeah simple and delish. I spread a lil berry preserves on and gobble it up. Or you can do what the Pioneer Woman did and make your own berry butter. I’m not willing to hurt a carton of blackberries in such a disturbing manner so I passed.

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2011/07/french-toast-with-berry-butter/

One thought on “Frenchy Toasties

Leave a Reply

