One Recipe …. Two Fruits!

By fruits I mean my friend and I. Yes, I have friends. To protect this friends privacy, we will call her Bikki Bee. One day, Bikki Bee waltzed over to my cubicle to show me this fine buttery biscuit recipe she had found. She then proceeded to say pineapples were yuck and she would making these biscuits with apples per a suggestion from the recipe. Keep in mind, the recipe is called PINEAPPLE UPSIDE DOWN BISCUITS! From there it was decided we would have a bake off. Apple vs. Pineapple. What a perfect way to have some fun with my first guest blogger. May the challenge commence!

Let’s go straight to Bikki’s pics because I’m a turd and forgot to take half of mine. So happy I had help on this one.

3/4 cup brown sugar

3 tbsp unsalted butter

1 1/2 cups chopped pineapple or green apple

2 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp sugar

3/4 tsp salt

6 tbsp unsalted butter – make sure it’s frozen

1 cup buttermilk

Start by getting the oven nice and toasty at 450 degrees. Dice the fruit of choice. If using apples, peel off the skin and soak in water so they don’t turn brown while you work on the other parts. Like this ….

Melt the butter and brown sugar together over medium heat.

I love the drip drip! Grease a baking dish. Pour in the drip drip.  Hmmmm, speaking of turds.

Top with the fruit.

Let’s make some of dem from scratch biscuits! Mix flour, baking powder and soda, sugar and salt in a big bowl.

Grab your frozen butter and it better be frozen!  Grate pieces of it into the flour mix. If you can’t grate because you are graterless, cut real thin.

Time to play with your food. Put your hands in and massage the ingredients together. Or claw them together like Bikki.

Pour in the buttermilk and stir.

Stir together. Make 10 balls with the dough. Clean or messy, whatever you prefer.

Cover the fruit mix bit the balls o’ biscuit.

Bake for 20 minutes until biscuits turn a nice golden brown.

Time for the challenge. We found 3 victims, cough cough, I mean professional stomachs to sample the goodies.

The presentation …….. Pineapple 1 …….. Apple 2……….

And the results ……

Very close call, but the pineapple won. Bikki Bee was a worthy opponent and this was a total blast. I think our judges can’t wait for round two!

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2011/05/pams-pineapple-upside-down-biscuts-a-cooking-weekend-in-june/

3 thoughts on “One Recipe …. Two Fruits!

  1. Yeah, I was truly blessed to get the opportunity to taste both, and all I can admit
    is that I’m glad I wasn’t a judge, they both tasted absolutely wonderful. When is the next challenge between you two, I really love tasting the food afterwards.

Leave a Reply

