Chicken, Yam & White Bean Chili

Yeah I’ve been doing some crazy things lately, so I decided it was time to cook something I wouldn’t feel guilty about eating. It’s also loaded with veg …. mmmmm!

1 cup dries navy beans (soak ’em overnight in water, helps the farts escape)

4 cups low sodium chicken broth

2 cups diced & peeled yams

1 medium diced yellow onion

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 1/2 lbs boneless/skinless chicken breast, diced into cubes

1 tbsp ground cumin

1 tbsp dried oregano

1 tsp coriander

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 cups chopped greens (I used mustard greens)

salt-n-pepa to taste

I normally prepare the night before if I’m making something in the slow cooker. Who the heck has time in the morning to get all this ready?

Drain the beans and place in the slow cooker. Pour in some broth, enough to cover the beans. Toss in the rest of the ingredients except for the greens and the salt-n-pepa. Now leave so it can cook for 6 to 8 hours. If you cook this while you are there it will drive you insane! I’m pretty sure my dogs hate me on slow cooker days.

Just before serving, stir the chopped greens and cook for about 10 min. Place in serving bowls and season. I served with sticky rice because you can eat it with your hands and I love getting messy.

After eating feel free to have an ice cream, you earned it!

adapted from Oxygen Magazine Jan 2012

Leave a Reply

