Batata Harra

I’m on this strange kick lately, discovering new foods that make me wish I were a billionaire so freakin bad (insert song here) so I could try all these food in their native land. Since that might not happen anytime soon, trying them out myself will have to do. So last week I stumbled upon this recipe that looked so stunning, I could have grabbed my fork and tried to eat it through my Ipad. Don’t believe me, go look for yourself: http://www.mangotomato.com/2011/12/brunch-at-zaytinya-in-dc.html

Anyway, here is my attempt to recreate this most wondeful display of breakfast that I’ve seen in a long time.

8 red potatoes – peeled and diced into cubes

1 small yellow onion

1 garlic clove

1 green or red pepper

4 oz diced green chiles – mild or hot whichever suits your fancy

1 tsp ground coriander

salt and pepper to taste

juice of 1 lime (not pictured)

3 tbsp olive oil for frying

Side note : For fear of making another lightly meated meal for my family and having them burn me at the stake, I added in 6 sliced beer bratwurst, some eggs and cooked bacon to top it with. Check out dat bacon just fryin away … can you smell what I’m cooking yet ????

Now for the real work. Heat a pan with 2 tbsp of the olive oil and throw in the potatoes. Cook those nice and good. I always add water while they are cooking because I like softer potatoes, but if you like ’em crunchy let them suckers fry!

Oh and Merry X-mas to meeee with my new pan. I can’t wait to make fajitas! Transfer the potatoes to a bowl and add the remaining tbsp of oil to the pan. Saute the onions, garlic, pepper and chile until the onions get lighter in color. Toss potatoes back in and add the sliced up sausage if using. Season with the coriander, salt and pepper, and let all the flavors come together. While this is going on, fry an egg sunny side up in another skillet.

Here is where I decided I needed some hair on my chest, so I was gonna spice things up. I sprinkled red pepper flakes on top for extra goodness.

Place serving on a plate and sprinkle on some bacon and lime juice.

All that is left to do is pickup fork and enjoy.

recipe adapted from: http://homemade-recipes.blogspot.com/2008/08/batata-harra.html

One thought on “Batata Harra

Leave a Reply

