Bánh Xèo

Well I do believe I have stumbled upon greatness … in the form of a pancake. I know you are thinking that too, after seeing my visually stunning food pics. I mean, why didn’t I know about these until now? It’s my duty to now spread the word about these little slices of heaven.

Pancakes:

1 cup brown rice flour

1 egg

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp. ground turmeric

1 can coconut milk

1/4 cup water

olive oil for frying

Grab you a big bowl and throw in the flour, egg, salt & turmeric. Get your whisk and mix in the coconut milk. If batter is too thick add some water, you don’t want the consistency too thick.

Set this lovely mix aside and prepare your sauce.

Let’s get saucy:

juice of 2 limes

1 1/2 tbsp toasted sesame oil

1 tbsp brown sugar

t tbsp soy sauce

2 tsp ground giner

2 oz. roasted red pepper

1 garlic clove

Toss it all in a food processor and process!

And the best part …. the stuffing

8 oz shredded pork tenderloin seasoned with Lawry’s

3/4 cup grated carrots

1 cup sliced button mushrooms

1 cup sugar snap peas

1 cup mung bean sprouts

4 diced green onions

1 small bunch sliced radished

handful of cilantro

2 oz roasted red peppers

Grab a frying pan and turn on medium heat. Sprinkle some olive oil into the pan and scoop in some of the pancake mix.

While those babies cook, heat up a wok on medium. Throw in 1 tbsp of olive oil and then saute vegetables.

Serve all of this goodness warm. Lay the pancake flat, stuff it with the pork/veg mix and fold it up. You can either drizzle the sauce inside or dip. Both ways are amazing!

I can’t believe it took me 32 years to discover this, but I can guarantee this will not be the last time I make this wonderful creation. This one was sweet, maybe next time I’ll be a spicy one!

adapted from: http://www.minnesotamonthly.com/media/Blogs/Dear-Dara/June-2011/FreshTartSteph-Recipe-Bnh-Xo-Vietnamese-Savory-Pancakes/

2 thoughts on “Bánh Xèo

Leave a Reply

