Shinnamon Roll Pie

One day I was searching for new desserts to make for the fam, and I happened upon this website called Summer of Pie. I was immediately drawn to a post about combining cinnamon rolls and pie. What a brilliant idea! The pictures of this stunning creation didn’t hurt either. I knew this pie and I would meet one day soon. Knowing I have a knack for screwing up pie crust, I decided to skip the part about making the dough and skip straight to the filling. Follow me to heaven on a plate …

2 already made pie crusts

2 tbsp. butter at room temperature

2/3 cup brown sugar

3/4 tsp cinnamon

Mix together these ingredients. Spread the mixture evenly on each pie crust.

Now cut into strips. Roll each piece in half and coil into strips.

Then roll into pan, each new piece starting where your last piece ended.

Cook it according to box directions, 12 to 15 minutes. Lick the cinnamon/sugar off your fingers during this time.

Look at your cowpie. Isn’t it appetizing? Let this cool. PUDDING TIME! I know you are wondering what that OU shot glass has to do with cooking. I use it to hold my salt. Shout out to my girl Tonya for hooking me up!!

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup flour

1 tbsp. cornstarch

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 vanilla bean

1 tsp. cinnamon

2 cups milk

3 egg yolks

2 tbsp. butter

1 tbsp. vanilla

Get a medium saucepan, turn on the stove to medium heat. Mix together the sugar, flour, cornstarch & salt in a bowl. Slice open the vanilla pod and scoop out the beans. Have them standing by the stove. Toss the dry mix into the pan. Slowly whisk in the milk. Once all the milk is in and the lumps are gone, put in the vanilla beans and the pod. Keep stirring until mixture thickens, remove pod. In a small bowl, beat the egg yolks and some of the pudding mixture together. Throw it back into the saucepan. Add cinnamon, butter and vanilla. Remove the pan from the heat so it can cool.

Time to cover your cowpie.

Now this will be tempting to stick a finger in to test. Restrain yourself. Place in the fridge for cooling and leave your house. Go see a movie, go shopping, do something! It’s the only way for this pie to survive to the decoration round.

Cinnamon Syrup Mix

2 tbsp syrup and 3/4 tsp cinnamon

Mix together. Make a swirly design on the pudding, fill with mixture.

Frosting Mix

1/2 cup powdered sugar and 3 tbsp heavy cream

Mix together and decorate pie.

Sprinkle with apple pie spice or cinnamon. You could make it look prettier if you want, but I knew we would be devouring this pie so why bother. I got 2 thumbs up so I know they liked it.

Adapted from “Cinnamon Roll Pie” on summerofpie.com

Leave a Reply

