Beans Beans The Magical Fruit

It’s no secret that I love beans! I love them for many reasons, but mostly because they are an easy way to get protein and fiber in your diet without spending too much cash. So here is my recipe, pretty much everything but the kitchen sink!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 pounds 80/20 ground beef

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 yellow onion, diced

1 garlic clove

3 15 oz. cans each of your favorite beans ( I used black, kidney & pinto)

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 oz. dark chocolate, at least 70%

5 oz can of diced green chiles

2 28oz cans each of crushed and diced tomatoes

salt, pepper and your favorite hot sauce to taste

Cheese!

Brown the beef on medium high, set aside. Pour in the olive oil, let heat for 30 seconds and throw in the onion and garlic. Saute until translucent. If I have to show you pics of how to do any of the above, I’m going to ask you to turn off the oven, pick up your phone and order some pizza. I don’t want to be responsible for your place catching on fire! Add the beef to the onion/garlic mixture. While those flavors simmer together, open your beans. I rinse them in  water before adding them to the pot because I’m afraid of that gooey stuff at the bottom of the can. Add the beans to the meat mixture. Now toss in the peanut butter and the chocolate. Let them melt by stirring.

Once done, add chiles, tomatoes, salt and pepper. Stir together and let this mixture come to a boil. If you have time, turn temperature to low and simmer for an hour. If your mouth is salivating from the aroma in your kitchen, throw chili in a bowl and eat up.

First add cheese to your serving because cheese is like crack for me and it goes on everything!

I threw in Sriracha because its the best and a sprinkle of basil because I’m currently in the middle of a love affair with basil, I put it on everything!

I hope you enjoy my go to recipe for staying healthy. I’m bean tolerant, but if you have issues, eat this at home where you can let er rip!

Come back soon for more yum yum in your tum tum!

One thought on “Beans Beans The Magical Fruit

Leave a Reply

